We had a ripper of a rainstorm on and off most of the night so when I saw some clearing this morning and even a bit of blue sky I grabbed the camera gear and headed for the wetlands west of town.  I anticipated high flows and was not disappointed.  Spending a couple of hours outside with camera in hand – time flew – and while it was very windy and there were a lot of duck hunters out and about I thoroughly enjoyed myself.  The first shot below was done with a 10 stop ND filter and just a bit of light coming through the overcast to highlight the brush.

Wetlands_winter_CR_2

As I wandered further I came to a spot that was not so windy and there was some color left to set off the rather bleak browns and grays that were dominant all around.  As you can see there was even some sun from time to time.  I think they may call such openings “Sucker holes!”

Wetlands_winter_CR

On the way back to the car I concentrated on the reflections in the high water from the surrounding brush along path I followed.

Winter_reflections

Winter_flow_wetlands_CR_BW

And finally just a little Black and White conversion of some reflections.  Two above were both shot with 10 stop ND filters.  If you want to see a larger view of any of the images just click on them and as always comments are more than welcome.

