About a week ago I noted on Art Wolfe’s blog that the color Emerald had been selected as the Color of the Year.  Spring in the Willamette Valley is full of green and I am sure the Emerald color selected by Pantone is well represented down here.

Green is the most abundant hue in nature – the human eye sees more green than any other color in the spectrum,” said Leatrice Eiseman, executive director of the Pantone Color Institute®. “As it has throughout history, multifaceted Emerald continues to sparkle and fascinate. Symbolically, Emerald brings a sense of clarity, renewal and rejuvenation, which is so important in today’s complex world. This powerful and universally appealing tone translates easily to both fashion and home interiors.”

I went out this morning just to enjoy the Valley in the Spring sunshine and found a few images that I liked.  The first one is in Black & White ( OK OK – not green) but I love the dramatic clouds that form over the Valley this time of year.

Valley_stitch3_BW

The next image is from the fields along Meadowview Road – Sally tells me these are Swans and there must have been 300 in this emerald green field.  Wish I would have had my 400 mm lens with me so perhaps another visit is called for.

Swans

Finally I made my way out to an orchard where I have shot before in the Spring.  The trees are just starting to break bud – the promise of harvest abundance in their blooms.

Spring_trees

