A few days ago I sent an email to some folks with a link to a class that Art Wolfe is teaching in Tuscany.  (http://podas.info/workshop-calendar-2/podas-tuscany-2/) I made the personal observation that a lot of the images he had posted looked a lot like the green and rolling hills of the Willamette Valley which, in my humble opinion, is photographically under-shot.   Dave picked up on that comment and he, Paula and I left early this morning to see what we could find in the morning light and to scout locations for future outings.  These first two shots are from just south of Monroe.  Sunrise.  Then we waited until the sun began to fill up the fields – such a lovely morning. (click to see larger views)

Morning_sunburst_WV

Valley_morning1

We moved up the road just a few miles to Lane-Benton winery and we all rather intrigued by the rows of almost bare vines running up the hillside.  I have been experimenting with NIK Silver EFEX Pro2 for Black and White conversions and the one below caught my attention and with a little tweaking it works for me.

Wine_rows_abstract_Vinetage

We drove on and from time to time would comment that we had come upon another location that just seemed to say “Morning shoot” and I know we will be back to find more morning light in those locations.  It was a great morning with great friends.

