That was certainly the way I felt last night when I walked back to my car in the semi-darkness after a spectacular, IMHO, sunset out at the wetlands west of Eugene.  My thanks go out to Dave Hill, friend and fellow photographer, who called me mid-afternoon to say that it looked like a good sunset was shaping up.  He had been out walking his dog and spotted the clouds forming.  It warmed up a bit yesterday and was only 23 when I got back to the car so not too bad.

I have been reading Art Wolfe’s new book and in one of the sections he states that we should “Shoot without prejudice” – really struck me — do not have expectations when you go out with the camera and to keep your eyes and heart open to the possibilities.  I have to admit however that I had strong expectations for nice sunset last night.

Walking up to an area that I love to shoot the sun was very bright and I knew it would blow out any shot I took that included it so I tried to just highlight a tree on a point of land that I have shot so many times but never with snow and ice and sunset light coming on.

Single_tree_frozenAs I made my way out onto the edge of the lake all of a sudden I heard the crack of the ice and felt myself going down – luckily it was only an inch or so of water below the ice and then cold mud – thank goodness for my L.L. Bean boots.  Dry but chilly.  This next shot was just as the sun began to set over the coast range.

Sunset_cold_burstI waited for almost an hour and it got better and better until the sun was gone leaving a red streaked sky over a frozen landscape.  I thought this next shot was my last for the evening …..

Sunset_cold_lastNOPE!!  I was packing up when I took one last look and headed back out onto the ice for just one more shot.   As my friend Bruce said one time — “Seems like it is always that last one that is a good one.”

Sunset_cold_homeI headed home hoping that I did not mess up taking these shots and I am pretty happy with these results.   Cold feet but a warm heart.  Stay warm all of you.

