A few years ago the B&B complex fire roared its way up the McKenzie River and over into the Metolius system.  It left behind what I think are some amazing patterns of burnt snags that on a day like today contrast heavily with the fresh snow.  I have wanted to photograph this burn area for a long time and never found it right or safe but today offered at least some possible shots and the traffic was so light that I did not fear for my life parking in the turnouts when I could find one.  The first two shots are from Santiam Pass heading east.

Fire_IceThis next shot may make some of you run for the hills screaming and I can already hear my friend Dave commenting about clutter but I think if you open it and spend some time just looking you may come to like it as much as I do.  Maybe not!

Frosted_bolesFinally ended up at Wizard Falls on the Metolius River and while this is certainly not a great shot of that area I just like the area and thought I would share it with y’all.

Wizard_FallsLunch with my friend Leslie from Sisters and a easy drive home made for a really nice day in the mountains.

