I do believe there is an old Rock and Roll song or group or something by that name but last night it was a term that jumped into my mind in the lavender fields just north of the town of Harrisburg.

The wonderful folks at Camille’s Black Dog Lavender farm {http://www.camilleslavender.com/} were kind enough to let Dave and I wander around their fields near sunset.  We left town about 7:30PM and got to the fields about 45 minutes later – time to set up and enjoy the sunset to come.  First of all however I will show you an image of this wonderful farm – idyllic.  They are open for lavender sales for the next couple of weekends and I think a trip up there would make a lovely outing for anyone especially families.

Lavender_house

It was very windy last evening and I decided rather than fight it I would try to take advantage of it.  There is a lot to be said for crystal clear shots of these beautiful blooms and I have shot them many times like that but last night the waves of color caused by the wind plus a little purposeful camera movement gave me at least two shots that I like.  Not your standard photographs for sure.

I have always admired watercolor painters for their ability to go to the essence of a scene and I have rarely been able to produce similar results.  I’m just saying, but I think these next two ‘made’  images portray the beauty and movement that was in the fields last night.  By ‘made’ I mean that I had in mind the capture of the movement and color and used field techniques that worked toward that aim.  I think I got there.

Purple_wave_comboThis last one is my favorite from the evening.  If you click on the images you can see a bigger size image.

Purple_vert_row

