It cleared a bit late yesterday afternoon and I walked out just to check on what was happening to the west.  I thought there was a good chance that we might have a nice sunset so I called Dave Hill and we both headed toward the wetlands.  We walked up the access path and came upon a small pond that was so still that it formed a mirror surface to reflect what we both were convinced was going to be a spectacular sunset.  This is the first shot that I took last evening.

Red_sunset_pond_first

The water had dropped a bit since my last visit and allowed us to access parts of the path that would have required serious wading footwear only a few days earlier so Dave and I walked up a bit always keeping in mind that we wanted to be back at the small pond we first shot at when the sunset really came on. This is a set of 9 images stitched together.

Red_sunset_square

We packed up and headed back to the original pond and got there with a bit of time to spare but the really spectacular part of the sunset only lasted about 5 minutes and the light was gone.  I am so glad we went out there.  With the early sunset we were home by 5:30 and had a nice evening at home.

Red_sunset_pond1